The Last Word

The Last Word — TSGRA Hands Out Hardware at 100th Anniversary Convention

Sheep Industry News Editor
I’d been on the job less than 48 hours when word came in that the Texas Sheep and Goat Raisers’ Association would be honoring the Sheep Industry News with its annual award for outstanding news media reporting on July 24 in Kerrville, Texas.

Needless to say, I can’t take even a shred of credit for the honor. When ASI Executive Director Peter Orwick accepted the award, he really did so on behalf of former editors Ralph Loos and Amy Trinidad. All I can promise at this point is that I will do my best in the coming months and years to produce a magazine worthy of such an award.

There were, however, plenty of award recipients that day who actually earned the honors bestowed upon them. I think it’s only fair that I use the rest of this space to recognize them.

The Outstanding Agriculture Science Teacher was Mark Tillman of Junction, Texas. Mark has taught for 15 years, 10 of which were spent in the vocational agriculture science. He also still ranches in Kimball County, continuing his family’s legacy, and has served as an auctioneer. Mark’s ties to TSGRA go back to the very beginning, as his grandfather (A.Y. Tillman) was a charter member of the association.

The Outstanding County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences was Jennifer Reeves of Llano County. An extension agent with Texas AgriLife, Jennifer and her husband, Cody Page, have settled in Llano and are restoring the ranch homestead.

The Outstanding County Extension Agent for Agriculture and Natural Resources was Jamie Osbourn of Llano County. He has served as an extension agent for eight years and has held numerous programs on sheep and goat production. He’s also has a variety of duties with the local 4-H program.

The Outstanding Trapper of the Year was Ralph Crockard with Wildlife Services. After two years in Real County, he’s spent the last 24 years in the Uvalde County. In addition to wildlife damage control, he oversees the district warehouse inventory and schedules aerial support for district assignments.

Special Achievement Awards were presented to Brenda Seidensticker of Comfort, Texas, and to the San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo Association.
Brenda was recognized for her dedicated service to the wool and mohair industry, and also for her years as chairman of the Texas Make it Yourself with Wool contest. She’s also a past winner of TSGRA’s Dietert Memorial Award.

Three more awards were presented on Friday evening. Preston Faris of Sonora, Texas, claimed the Fred T. Earwood Memorial Award, which is the most prestigious award given by TSGRA. Preston was raised on a working ranch in Bandera County and has also worked with the Texas AgriLife Extension Service. He retired in 2003 after 31 years in extension work in various counties.

Preston also served as the original secretary/treasurer of the Texas Rambouillet Sheep Breeders Association and has judged sheep and goat shows all over the world.

Lillian Stieler Real of Utopia was named the Dietert Memorial Award winner. Both her and her husband’s families were instrumental in the development of the wool and mohair industry in Kerr County. She is a charter member of the TSGRA Auxiliary and served as its 10th president.

Trey Sisco of Sterling City, was also recognized with the Young Ranchers Award. Raised on a family ranch in Water Valley, he is a licensed athletic trainer, physical education teacher and athletic coach. He also continues to ranch with his father, raising commercial hair sheep, cattle and club lambs. Trey also serves as a TSGRA director.

Skip to content