ALB Appointments Announced
November 1, 2013

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced four appointments to the 2014 Lamb Promotion, Research and Information Board, more commonly referred to as the American Lamb Board (ALB). Each appointee will serve a three-year term. 
“These appointees represent a cross section of the lamb industry and I am confident that the lamb industry will be well served by them,” said Vilsack. 
The newly appointed board members representing producers include Jim Percival (Ohio) and Diane Peavey (Idaho). Dale Thorne (Mich.) was appointed to represent feeders and Greg Ahart (Calif.) will represent first handlers. All appointees are first-time members to the board. 
The American Sheep Industry Association (ASI) nominated Peavey and Percival as sheep producer directors. ASI president Clint Krebs expressed appreciation with the appointments so that the new directors can weigh in on the new funding available this year with the increase in the checkoff assessment supported by ASI. 
ALB is composed of six producers, three feeders, one seedstock producer, three first handlers and a member of the general public.